Friday’s Fave Five June 23

. at . 4 comments

I am watching 59 musicals this year. Today I watched The Flower Drum Song. Below are some of the lyrics to a song I heard.

♮ ♪ ♭ A hundred million miracles are happ’ning ev’ry day, ♩ ♬ ♯♫ And those who say they don’t agree ♫♩ ♩♭ Are those who do not hear or see. ♮♪

Some “commonplace” miracles that are mentioned are noticed only by those who will hear and see. 

  • Changing weather
  • Swallow eggs that hatch as fully formed birds
  • Toddler learning to walk
  • Creating music

Friday’s Fave Five are (usually) commonplace miracles noticed only by those who deliberately look for them. I looked and want to share my five. Go here to link up your commonplace miracles post or leave a comment at the end of this post.

ONE. Projects. Twice a month (at least) a group of gals (12-80) gathers to sew/craft items for Operation Christmas Child. Lucy (coordinator) and I met to sort the projects so that those who do not use a sewing machine could have plenty to do when we meet.

  • Sew buttons on the “purses” for cloth menstrual pads
  • Stuff doll arms and legs
  • Slip ribbon into casings for pillowcase dresses and marble bags

Related Posts . . . Love in a Box … I Help Because I am a Parent, Auntie & Missionary

TWO.  Underground Tour. I have the honour of over-seeing the PEP 55+ ministry at my church. This past week we maxed out the 11am slot (20 people) for the Underground Tour in Old Sacramento. It was interesting to hear how Gold Rush events impacted that area. Afterwards we lunched. Each car full of folks went some place different. I love field trips and I spending time with everyone, especially the ladies in my car.

Related Post . . . Hospitality Field Trip Refreshes and Teaches

THREE. Quotes. This past week I finished A Year by the Sea: Thoughts of an Unfinished Woman by Joan Anderson. It is on my Summer bucket list. I don’t remember who recommended it. But once I found out that the main character lived a yearlong “quest,” I KNEW I had to read it. I am fascinated by those types of books. Here is my post that shares my favourite quotes from the book.

Related Posts . . . Why I Put Quotes With My Signature … Favourite Quotes from Help, Thanks, Wow: The Three Essential Prayers … Finding Laughter: 15 Quotes 

FOUR. Father’s Day Breakfast. For the past two years. the men from my church cooked a pancake breakfast on Mother’s Day. So this year we decided we should do the same. We had egg casseroles with lots of sausage, coffee & orange juice. Muffins and fruit salad (with whipped cream)  were also offered. Not only did LOTS of people donate food but there was a steady crew of ladies in the kitchen: serving and cleaning. It was a festive atmosphere and people lingered over breakfast.

Related Posts . . . Favorite Quote from Yesterday’s Hospitality Class … French Toast Supreme Casserole for 2 … What surprise ingredient do you put in your eggs?

FIVE. Dinner with Friends. Since I live alone, I spend a lot of meals alone which is okay with me. But it is a SPECIAL treat when I get to have dinner with someone else. And this week I had dinner with two different “groups” of people. Of course the food was tasty. But the special part for me was spending time with friends apart from work related functions.

Related Posts . . . My cooking means someone died? … Hospitality Goofs and Chicken Tortilla Soup

Those are my five faves.

Your Turn . . . Share yours!

Entry filed under: Friday's Fave Five (FFF), Gratitude List, Main. Tags: , .

Quotes from “A Year by the Sea: Thoughts of an Unfinished Woman” 5 Items to Include on Every Bucket List

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jerralea  |  . at .

    Susan, what a beautiful busy week you’ve had!

    I agree, we FFF bloggers love to look for commonplace miracles. God created such a wonderful world for us to enjoy!

    You know I’m all about quotes. I will definitely be checking out your post about quotes from A Year By the Sea.

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Barbara H.  |  . at .

    The field trip sounds like a lot of fun. It’s enjoyable to see those sites with others. The Father’s Day breakfast sounds really good! Glad you got to eat out with friends a couple of times this week.

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Willow  |  . at .

    My husband and I are the leaders with two others for the 70+ crowd at our church. How I love those seniors–they are very precious and full of wisdom.
    I haven’t heard for that book, but I will look it up. If you enjoy year long quest books, you might enjoy The Green Year by Barbara Webster. It’s old, published in 1956, but I thought it was an enjoyable read.
    Dinners out with friends sound like a great addition of commonplace miracles (I like that phrase!).

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Susanne  |  . at .

    That tour sounds very interesting. Such a great thing to organize for the seniors. Great ideas for OCC! Working together with others on projects always makes it so much fun! And dinner out with friends is always fun.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

59 Musicals to Watch During my 59th year

The Finish DateApril 1st, 2018
7 months to go.

Latest Tweets

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 731 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


