5 Reasons I Love Social Media (FFF)

. at . 3 comments

June 30th is Social Media Day and it is also Friday’s Fave Five. So I thought I would combine the two and share why I am grateful for social media.

ONE. Prayer Points. Many times I find out about life events on social media (especially Facebook) before I do via the phone or face-to-face.

  • Birthday/anniversary
  • Cancer announcement/last day of cancer announcement
  • Chronic pain/sudden illness
  • Graduation/loss of employment
  • Hatred/love

I saw all of these things this past week and I prayed for each one. So I can better love on people in my life, this is one of the first things I do each morning.

TWO. Share Information. Most of the folks on my Facebook list are church folks.

  • Therefore it is a GREAT way to advertise what’s going on.
  • My teams and I (PEP and Women’s Ministry) create event pages.
  • We have groups for PEP, Women’s Ministry and Operation Christmas Child  (OCC) Projects (sewing/crafting).
  • I share photos from the things we do together.
  • I highlight what people at CNC are doing. That way we can appreciate them. And get involved, if that interests us.

THREE. New Ideas. I belong to Facebook feeds that cover a gamut of areas: OCC, crafts, theology, authors, education, travel, diabetes news, Spanish, fasting and Dan Rather. (He is the only “political thing” I follow.) Of course there are a bajillion recipes that get shared. I have even tried a few and pinned a TON.

I use Twitter as a way to get world news and information. (I use Facebook mainly as a way to get personal news from friends.)

FOUR. Scrapbooking Life. There are many times that I post on Facebook because I WANT to remember this information. I want to document something from my life or from the life of someone important to me. I used to do scrapbooking. I probably won’t ever do that again. However, one of these days, I am going to print off a book that has all the posts from one year. In my ideal world, I would do that for every year I am on Facebook.

FIVE. Family Photos & Updates. Honestly, this is my favourite reason to have social media (Facebook). I LOVE seeing what my family is up to. Checking FB for my family is the last screen time thing I do each night. I want to see if there is something new that I can think about before I go to bed.

Your Turn . . . What are your favourite reasons to be on social media?

Related Posts from Fruitful Words . . .

Related Post from the internet . . . 
  • Twitter – INTERACTIVITY
  • Facebook – COMMITMENT
  • LinkedIn – REPUTATION
  • Google+ – VISIBILITY
  • Quora – KNOW-HOW
  • Pinterest – PASSION
  • Instagram – EXPRESSIVENESS
 This is the 18th and last post (most likely) in the “5 Reasons I Love . . .” Series. Go here for the original post which explains how this idea came about. The previous post is 5 Reasons I Love Spring.
Entry filed under: Friday's Fave Five (FFF), Gratitude List, Main. Tags: , , , .

Uncovering History with an Address Book Uncovering History with an Address Book: The A’s

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Willow  |  . at .

    I always say that I first got on facebook to spy on my kids! Actually, I use facebook to keep up with my friends and family for many of the same reasons you mentioned although I don’t do much with groups on facebook.
    Have a great holiday weekend!

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Barbara H.  |  . at .

    I love social medias for all those things as well. I love hearing people’s news almost instantly and being able to pray for a need as it comes up. I don’t like a lot of the “junk” there – political stuff, clickbait posts, etc. – but for now I “hide” the stuff I don’t like. Facebook is the best way to keep up with my extended family, so I plan to stay!

    Like

    Reply
  • […] Social Media […]

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

59 Musicals to Watch During my 59th year

The Finish DateApril 1st, 2018
6 months to go.

Latest Tweets

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 742 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


