Friday’s Fave Five July 14

. at . 7 comments

ONE.  One-year-old birthday. My youngest grand-daughter is now one. Sienna has a mellow, happy, busy attitude. Mama made her a watermelon cake because Sienna doesn’t prefer sweet. So this cake was very appreciated by our one-year-old. I’ve never had a fruit cake before and I must say I also appreciated it. EDITED TO ADD: Here is the watermelon cake recipe.

The tire is completely gone.

TWO. Two flat tires. How is this a fave? On the passenger side both tires went flat … while I was going west on Hwy 80 … at 65 miles an hour … where traffic was congested! I didn’t hurt myself, anyone else, or my car – other than tires and a rim. … The other tire lost all the rubber but there was no damage to that rim.

The two sisters have matching outfits and LIKE it.

THREE. Three matching dresses. My 4-year-old grand-daughter picked out items for an Operation Christmas Child  shoebox. … I bought 3 matching tee shirts (2 size 4’s and one 12 months) and 1 yard of material. A friend (Lucy) turned the tee shirts into dresses. … One of the 4T dresses will go into the box. … I snapped a photo of my two grand daughters in the other dresses. And I will include that photo with a note in the box as well.

I will make this for Cheryl soon. This is actually a photo of Sienna’s birthday cake.

FOUR. All play and no work for four. Last Sunday the women’s ministry team met just to play, (Bip, Cheryl, Lina and me)! We’ve never done that before.

We had a lovely BBQ, garden grown veggies, and potluck. One of the fave dishes was an asparagus salad (with LOTS of avocado). I bought red skin potato salad from the store and it was surprisingly tasty.

We each gave a one minute speech about something we are passionate about. And we ended our time in the pool. It was a refreshing, encouraging, fun time.

Share your fave moments from this week. Share them in the comments or on your blog.

FIVE. (almost) Five hour meeting with a mentor. I met my mentor, Nancy, in Modesto last week (half-way point for both of us).I had 14 questions I wanted her input on. She said she had all the time I needed. I was so surprised that we talked and prayed for almost 5 hours.

One of the cool things is that she brought up topics, before I did, that were on my list. I.e. How to stay “topped up” for ministry … Chaplain hints (she has been a chaplain for many, many years and I am starting such a program at my church) … and how to love God better.

One way that helps me to love God better, is to stay consistent with a gratitude practice. Friday’s Fave Five is one thing I incorporate into my gratitude practice.

Your Turn . . .  Leave a comment about a fave or anything you read.

What I Wrote this Week . . .

Entry filed under: Friday's Fave Five (FFF), Gratitude List. Tags: , .

Uncovering History with an Address Book: The B’s Uncovering History with an Address Book: The C’s

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Faith  |  . at .

    what a fun way to do your FFF…i just might copy your idea one week!

    happy birthday to your darling granddaughter…..can you get your daughter to share the recipe?

    wow…your tire must have been completely bald! so praise God no one was hurt!

    love those little dresses…they are sweet!

    I love getting together with c,ose friends for fun and fellowshio and with spiritual mentors! you had a great week!

    happy weekend!

    Like

    Reply
    • 2. susan2009  |  . at .

      Faith – I will get that cake information to you as soon as I hear back from her.

      Like

  • 3. wendyj59  |  . at .

    Lovely way of doing the Friday Five. So glad you managed to survive those flats with no other damage – that must have been scary. Cute dresses and what an unusual but lovely cake. Happy birthday to your granddaughter.

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Gattina  |  . at .

    I agree with your little granddaughter, I too prefer fruit cakes ! The dresses are very cute !

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. wendyj59  |  . at .

    Thanks for the tip on lavender wands – I hadn’t seen them before but might give them a try 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. Barbara H.  |  . at .

    Oh wow – that tire! Two of them at the same time! Thankfully I have never been driving when a tire blew but I was in a car once when it happened – it can be scary. Glad you were ok and able to stop safely.

    Belated happy birthday to your granddaughter! I have had cake with fruit in it or fruit-flavored cake – but not a watermelon cake.

    What a cute idea turning tee shirts into dresses and then sending one in the Operation Christmas child shoe box.

    The weekend to play sounds fun and refreshing. Wow, it’s not often anyone has 5 or so hours to meet with someone. There is a chaplain with the hospice program who comes to see my mother-in-law periodically – a great ministry.

    Like

    Reply
  • 7. karen58  |  . at .

    Happy Birthday to your sweet granddaughter! The cake not only looks delicious, but it so pretty! First birthdays are special:)

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

59 Musicals to Watch During my 59th year

The Finish DateApril 1st, 2018
5 months to go.

Latest Tweets

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 751 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


