Friday’s Fave Five July 28

. at . 6 comments

Karrie and I trying to fix this kite so it’ll fly

ONE: Women’s 3rd Annual Beach Trip. 16 ladies from my church carpooled to Ocean Beach in San Francisco. We had a short photography lesson. I based it on this article: 10 iPhone Photography Tips To Quickly Improve Your Photos. I only talked about 9 tips as I know NOTHING about filters.

Then we had a scavenger hunt which included highlights of the lesson, typical beach items and activities one might do at the beach. The following link is the PDF of our OCEAN PHOTO SCAVENGER HUNT CHECKLIST.

We roasted hot dogs and marshmallows for s’mores. We also played in the water, took walks, sat in our chairs chatting, and (tried to) fly a kite (that just didn’t want to be flown). And of course we laughed, a lot.

Walking from the car to the beach has always been tough for me. (My family used to come to this beach each Thanksgiving. We’d bring our meal, firewood, playthings, and warm clothing in order to stay for the day.) The walk is long and because the sand is deep it is tough to slough through it. BUT. But this year it wasn’t so tough. In fact I willingly took 3 trips from the car to our spot.

Rusty is one of the few men who braves our Lunch Bunch. He is a foodie and has great restaurant suggestions.

TWO: Indian Restaurant for PEP Folks. On the 4th Sunday of each month, the seniors of our church (called PEP 55+) go out to lunch together. This past Sunday we went to Aappakadai Indian Restaurant. On Sundays they have a lunch buffet. Even though I don’t eat spicy food (because of a complaining gall bladder), I found plenty of delicious food. It was fun to try new food with a group of long-time friends.

THREE: Encouragement Team Meeting. This is the 2nd time that folks from PEP 55+ gathered to send a card to all the seniors of our church. We prayed for the recipients and we wrote everyone an encouragement on their card. It took the 9 of us a little more than 2 hours to write 97 cards. I am so excited for the cards to be received. It is like we were part of an encouragement flash mob.

There were zinnias in multiple colours: pink, magenta, yellow, white, red, striped, and orange. … My fave is the pink.

FOUR: Mezger Family Zinnia Patch. You can get helpful information from FaceBook. That is where I found out about this couple acre flower farm. The zinnias are free with the caveat that you also cut enough flowers for someone else, preferably a senior citizen.

All you have to do is show up since there are scissors/flower clippers, vases and water. We signed the guest book and perused the 9 or so rows of hardy, colourful zinnias chosen because they ARE hardy and colourful.

Go to this link to read about why Mark Mezger created this beautiful free space. And if you are in the Sacramento area, take your own spontaneous field trip. Oh, sunscreen would probably be a good idea, to bring along.

It was easier to poke in the end of the poles that were made with skewers as opposed to twigs.

FIVE: TP’d with Miniature Tipis. Elizabeth (my daughter) made these tipis in 2009 for an art show. Some mini tipis were made with toilet paper. And some were made with paper towels. Yes, she used a sewing machine to stitch them together.

Years ago she tipi TP’ed a couple of friends’ homes. The other afternoon we used the rest (97 of them) to tipi TP my sister’s yard. Elizabeth is in a decluttering mode and NEEDED to get rid of the plastic, green tub totally filled with these art items.

This is Chip, my 3.5 pound, 12 inch long, apricot, miniature toy poodle modeling next to a tipi.

Here is Elizabeth’s explanation: I’ve been storing these for that eventual art show or for some other special event, when I decided after 8 years of living in the garage it’s time to use them. When the inhabitants saw their custom art installation, (I’m told), it made them smile. Mission accomplished!

Your Turn . . . I am linking this to Susanne’s Friday’s Fave Five. Write your own post of blessings and link up. Or share a blessing or other comment down below.

What I Wrote This Week . . .

Entry filed under: Friday's Fave Five (FFF), Gratitude List, Main. Tags: , .

Strawberry Chia Seed Jam – No Cook! Austen in August Reading Challenge 2017

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Faith  |  . at .

    sounds like a fun, full of blessings week!!

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Ann  |  . at .

    I LOVE the zinnias! What a wonderful idea!!
    I also love how your daughter “tipi-ed” that yard – in more ways than one!
    Very creative.

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Barbara H.  |  . at .

    I hate to think that I am old enough for the PEP group, LOL! Looks like you had some great outings. The zinnia place is such a neat thing. Funny about the tipi-ed yards. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Susanne  |  . at .

    “Encouragement Flash Mob”…love that. Sounds like they do some great things together, fun and ministry. Your beach day sounds like so much fun and has given me some fun ideas for the next time my ladies bible study meets, though we don’t have a beach, I think of some substitution.

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. scrabblequeen  |  . at .

    Thanks for stopping by the blog…you prompted me to post for the first time in a year. 😃

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. Willow  |  . at .

    The zinnia patch idea is great!
    My hubby and I are leaders/teacher for the oldest group of people in our church (love my seen-agers!) and one lady faithfully sends cards to all of us on every occasion. People from the whole congregation contribute cards and stamps to her.
    Your ladies day out sounds fun!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

59 Musicals to Watch During my 59th year

The Finish DateApril 1st, 2018
7 months to go.

Latest Tweets

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 731 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


