Friday’s Fave Five August 4, 2017

. at . 9 comments

It is time to look back over a busy week and share five highlights.

It isn’t too late to sign up.

ONE Month of Austen. In 2015 I participated in the Austen in August Reading challenge. It was the first time I had read any books by Jane Austen.  I am doing it again this year because I had such a great time. Here is my post on what I hope to read. #AustenInAugustRBR.

 

 

TWO Baptisms. Last Sunday I had the extreme honour and pleasure to baptize two people: Andy and Lucy. It was an emotional and memorable time for each of us. It was special to be able to hear their story of faith and about their commitment to Christ.

 

“morning”

“Gold”

“Roses”

THREE Photos for August Break, 2017.  Susannah Conway is hosting this community photograph meme with daily prompts.  The Facebook group is here.  You get to determine how often you participate this month. No stress so come on and join us on Instagram and/or Facebook. Use this hashtag: #augustbreak2017. My instagram account is SusanIZwright.

 

 

 

 

Kadie (niece), Elizabeth (daughter), Susan (me)

Red bean cake, onion & sausage roll and kelp, mung been soup (Pegasus)

 Progressive Taiwanese Dinner at FOUR Spots: Pegasus Cafe, Snowbee, Vampire Penguin and Gong Cha. My daughter, niece and I spent an enjoyable evening in Little Saigon.

Taro Snow (Vampire Penguin) Most Beautiful.

Avocado fluffy ice (Snowbee) – TASTIEST!

It was fun having “snow,” chicken on skewers and bubble tea (to name a few things). It reminded me of my trip to Taiwan (with Elizabeth) to visit Kadie last January.

5K Fun Run/Walk. This past year I have been walking a WHOLE lot more, in part due to my trip to Taiwan. We walked a LOT every day and there were tons of stairs. So I kept up that pace once I got home.

I liked that this Fun Run/Walk was done to support the Alzheimer’s Association

1,407 people signed up.

Our real time was 1:02:52. It took us a few minutes to get back to the finish line time clock and find a spot where we weren’t in the way..

About a month ago I decided to walk a 5K. I thought I could do this because when I went to the ocean last month, I didn’t have trouble going from the car to our beachside spot.

 

Part of the Fun Run/Walk was in a cemetery .These morning glories were on an outside fence.

And I was inspired to do this because of the example of two people. MJ Towns is from my church and frequently runs races. And the other person is hiking champ, Faith (blogging friend from FFF). Month after month after month, I’d see their example until I finally decided to follow that example.

I didn’t know you could have such a sign on your back. Next year I will walk in honour of several folks.

Your Turn . . . I linked this post to Susanne’s meme, Friday’s Fave Five. Join us at her place or in the comments down below.

 

What I Wrote This Week at Fruitful Words . . .

Entry filed under: Friday's Fave Five (FFF), Gratitude List, Main. Tags: , .

Uncovering History with an Address Book: The E’s How to Make Chocolate EXTRACT in Your Kitchen

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Gattina  |  . at .

    The food is something for me, I love Asian food ! You had a nice week !

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Faith  |  . at .

    CONGRATS on doing a 5K…..i do love hiking so much and glad i could play a small part in motivating you. i have never done a 5K as am not a runner but maybe i will power walk one someday! We are finally out of our heat wave with high humidity here in eastern NY i think so hiking a medium sized mountain is the plan this weekend!

    YUMMY…i have never had Taiwanese food but it sure looks and sounds good!

    Congrats to the young adukts making decisions for baptism. My oldest is getting baptized next weekend!!!!!

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. wendyj59  |  . at .

    Enjoyed reading your post. Lots of good things goind on. Well done on the 5k. Having a goal is a good incentive for keeping up the walking. Enjoy your weekend.

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Barbara H.  |  . at .

    I have enjoyed the Austen in August challenge a few times but didn’t join in this year – our August is going to be pretty eventful this year. It’s always a joy to see people take that step of baptism after putting their faith in Christ. The Progressive Taiwanese Dinner looks like a lot of fun! Good for you for participating in the walks!

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. Willow  |  . at .

    Yes, Faith inspires me. too. She has so many wonderful places to hike, bike and walk!
    Hurray for the two baptisms!

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. Karen Clark  |  . at .

    Congratulations on the 5K. I’ve not read Jane Austen either, and I’m not sure where I would start. Any suggestions? What a great week for you!

    Like

    Reply
    • 7. susan2009  |  . at .

      My favourite of the books is Pride and Prejudice. I just finished Northhanger Abbey and it was a quick read because of the short chapters and fast-paced story.
      This is the order I read them the first time around:
      Northanger Abbey
      Pride and Prejudice
      Mansfield Park
      Sense and Sensibility
      Persuasion
      Emma
      I hope you do read along with us in August.

      Like

  • 8. Susanne  |  . at .

    How wonderful that inspiration from a real life friend and a blogging friend spurred you on and it made a change in your life. Love that The Progressive dinner looks like it was lots of fun, great idea!

    Like

    Reply
  • 9. jerralea  |  . at .

    Looks like a beautiful week for you! I love your pics – especially the morning glories, and congrats on walking a 5K. I never thought of doing that but why not? A great way to get in steps.

    I also thought it sounded fun to have a progressive dinner with Asian restaurants. Sometime my church has progressive dinners at people’s homes but I like this idea – no clean up!

    But, I think the most special is that you got to baptize 2 people. That is so wondermous!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

59 Musicals to Watch During my 59th year

The Finish DateApril 1st, 2018
5 months to go.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 751 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


