Figs & Greens Breakfast Salad

. at . 2 comments

This colourful salad also has a lot of lovely flavours.

I have never had a fresh fig before. I’ve had plenty of Fig Newtons, but never the fresh fruit. So when a friend gave me some from her tree, I was anxious to try them.

My daughter and I put together the following ingredients for a salad and love it. We think it is tasty enough for dessert.

Toss the below ingredients together.

  • 1 cup chopped purple cabbage
  • 3 cups mixed greens
  • 1/2 cup cherry tomatoes
  • 1/2 to 1 cup chopped fig
  • 1/2 cup honey baked ham – chopped

Top the salad with the following ingredients.

  • 1 avocado – slices or chopped
  • 2 hard-boiled eggs – peeled and sliced
  • 1/4 cup cheese – slices or chopped –  We used Asiago but I want to try Brie and/or Feta next time.
  • 2-4 pieces of bacon – cooked and crumbled
  • 1/2 cup walnuts – raw or toasted

To Toast the walnuts, do the following.

  • Stir walnuts in small, nonstick skillet over medium heat until lightly toasted, about 3 minutes.

Mix the following dressing ingredients together. Sprinkle onto the salad.

  • 1/8 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 teaspoons chocolate balsamic vinegar
  • 2 teaspoons raspberry balsamic vinegar

Your Turn . . . What is your favourite way to use fresh figs?

Related Posts . . . 

Entry filed under: Main. Tags: .

Friday’s Fave Five September 1st, 2017 Making Sense of My Interior World from Inside Out

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lauren  |  . at .

    This sounds SO good! My neighbor grows them and last summer he gave me some. I’m sad to say I let them rot because I didn’t know what to do with them! I love all of the colorful ingredients in this salad. I don’t really LIKE salads unless they have fun, yummy ingredients like this one!

    Like

    Reply
    • 2. susan2009  |  . at .

      I hope your neighbor gives you more figs this year and you get to try the salad, Lauren. We think it is yummy especially with this dressing.
      I don’t know what else you can do with figs besides eat them. My daughter likes to do that. Me? Not so much.
      I eat at least one salad a day and I do get TIRED of them. So yummy ingredients is a bug bonus for me as well.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

59 Musicals to Watch During my 59th year

The Finish DateApril 1st, 2018
6 months to go.

Latest Tweets

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 742 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


