How I Soothe My INFLAMED Sinuses

. at . Leave a comment

Looks like it is time to make more solution. I make 24 ounces at a time.

How do you deal with the constant nasal drip and sinus pressure/infections that come with year round hay fever and allergies?

  • Antihistamines?
  • Nasal sprays?
  • Face massage?
  • Inhaling steam?

I am one such sufferer whether I live in CA or CO. I have tried the options above and others. But the one thing that is most helpful and has no harmful side effects (other than using a LOT of tissues to handle all the dislodged mucus) is nasal irrigation.

There are several instruments to choose from to squirt solution into your nasal passages.

I have tried them all. And I am currently using the last one. I like that there is a plunger that forces the liquid out of the tube and into the nasal passages.

The Original Recipe for the Nasal Solution                                    

  • 16 oz distilled water
  • 2 salt packets 
  • You can make your own solution by using baking soda and salt. I am currently using the packets and like the ease they provide.

I now add the following to my solution.

These additions can sting and are not for everyone.

Keep the solution in the fridge with the plunger.  You should always have about an inch or so of solution in the plunger so the rubber part doesn’t dry out.

Squirting this chilled liquid into the nasal passages is uncomfortable. But it sure makes my inflamed passages feel so much better afterwards.

I rinse my sinuses at least once a day right now. In addition to all the pollen that is in the air, there is also a lot of smoke.

NOTE 1: This is not meant to be medical advice. I am sharing what works for me. Also I am not compensated for any products I linked to on Amazon. I am linking so you can see what I use. There are of course many other options.
NOTE 2: Oregano can cause reactions in people allergic to Lamiaceae family plants, including basil, hyssop, lavender, marjoram, mint, and sage. Since I am allergic to some plants and herbs, I take this warning seriously.

I am linking this to ABC Wednesday.  The ABC Wednesday Facebook Group is here. Today’s letter is “I.”

Your Turn . . . Have you tried nasal irrigation before? Do you have any tips?

Related Posts . . . 

Entry filed under: Main, Recipes. Tags: , , , , .

Uncovering History with an Address Book: The I’s Friday’s Fave Five September 8th, 2017

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

59 Musicals to Watch During my 59th year

The Finish DateApril 1st, 2018
4 months to go.

Latest Tweets

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 752 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


