MORE vs less: It is Possible to Change

. at . 2 comments

Day 10 – Do you need to and want to break free from the chains of clutter? There is help for that.

Can you relate to this question? 

Can you relate to this headline? . . . 

Can you relate to this prison experience? 

  • I’ve never been able to keep my room clean for more than a day or so. Since I moved to New York in 2013, my living space had become a prison of crap that I chronically neglected. There wasn’t enough room for my stuff.~ Nicole Silverberg

Can you relate to being in clutter prison? . . . 

  • In other cases, our stuff builds up to form a prison around us: have you ever avoided a social visit because your house was too messy for company? ~ becoming minimalist

Even if you are not a certifiable hoarder, you can still feel imprisoned by your stuff. Even if you are not a candidate for one of those hoarder shows, you can still be missing out on life’s opportunities because of all the stuff in your life that owns you.

And like a hoarder in the midst of the disease cycle, you, too, might feel helpless to change.

There are many books that share their techniques to get rid of the clutter. And there are books that say clutter is more than stuff removal. You also need to remove the emotional issues surrounding the clutter. And finally some authors say we also need to declutter our schedules. What good is it to have a beautiful space and not have the time to enjoy it?

I say, all the above is important. And I’d add God to the equation.

So far in my stuff removal journey, I have come across several unreasonable reasons as to why I don’t want to get rid of something. I am seeing that the clutter is not the issue. It is the feeling or thoughts associated to the stiff that is the issue. And left to my own power, I cannot break the chains that stuff has on me.

And so I have been taking these items to God in prayer. Yes, I have. It is too early in my process to claim a majour breakthrough. But I know I will.

God is a change-maker. And God is a chain-breaker.

Listen to this song, Chain Breaker by Zach Williams. It is the theme song for my October clutter challenge. The lyrics are after the jump.

Your Turn . . . Is your stuff making your environment more like a prison or a paradise? . . . Do you know that God can help you make the necessary changes so that stuff is not your go-to drug?

Day 10 –  31 Minutes of Decluttering = Decluttering the email on my phone and work account. Down to 3 emails in my personal account.

Go here for the landing page with all the posts for MORE vs less: 31 Days of Decluttering. . . . I am joining 100’s of bloggers who are determined to write every day in October on one topic. To read more about #Write31Days, go here.

Join me in this experiment of MORE vs less.

The lyrics to the song, Chain Breaker are after Read More.

Chain Breaker by Zach Williams
If you’ve been walking the same old road for miles and miles
If you’ve been hearing the same old voice tell the same old lies
If you’re trying to fill the same old holes inside
There’s a better life
There’s a better life
If you’ve got pain
He’s a pain taker
If you feel lost
He’s a way maker
If you need freedom or saving
He’s a prison-shaking Savior
If you’ve got chains
He’s a chain breaker
We’ve all searched for the light of day in the dead of night
We’ve all found ourselves worn out from the same old fight
We’ve all run to things we know just ain’t right
And there’s a better life
There’s a better life
If you’ve got pain
He’s a pain taker
If you feel lost
He’s a way maker
If you need freedom or saving
He’s a prison-shaking Savior
If you’ve got chains
He’s a chain breaker
If you believe it
If you receive it
If you can feel it
Somebody testify
If you believe it
If you receive it
If you can feel it
Somebody testify, testify
If you believe it
If you receive it
If you can feel it
Somebody testify
If you’ve got pain
He’s a pain taker
If you feel lost
He’s a way maker
If you need freedom or saving
He’s a prison-shaking Savior
If you’ve got chains
He’s a chain breaker
If you need freedom or saving
He’s a prison-shaking Savior
If you’ve got chains
He’s a chain breaker
Entry filed under: Decluttering, Main. Tags: .

Grateful 43 – Kind Actions From Others October Neighborhood Meals Sign Up: Chili Needs

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. motolocochica  |  . at .

    I can completely relate to worldly possessions can equal a prison. When I was sorting out the garage some LDS missionaries stopped by to say hello. We talked for a little bit, mostly about owning stuff. I told them I was being held back by the amount of things that I own and that was why I had a sense of urgency to downsize asap. One of the missionaries looked surprised and said he’d never thought of it that way. I hope, if he has a bunch of things at storage at home, that if he is being trapped by it, that he’ll go on a 21 fling boogie! Then they offered to help me go through the boxes. Their sincerity was touching and not often an experience I have with complete strangers. I thanked them for the offer, but I needed to go through things myself. Then I got back to claiming my freedom!

    Like

    Reply
  • […] MORE vs less: It is Possible to Change […]

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

59 Musicals to Watch During my 59th year

The Finish DateApril 1st, 2018
3 months to go.

Latest Tweets

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 762 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


