7 Marriage Resources

. at . 4 comments

A good marriage takes work. That’s no surprise.

So it makes sense to enter into the marriage with a good base of communication and knowledge about each other. Premarital counseling can be done with a clergyman, another couple, or even with a good book.

Did you know that premarital counseling lasts about 5 years? Then it’s time for a booster shot.

So whether you are laying the foundation or needing a boosterbelow are some ideas for marriage books and websites.

Books

1. Ten Lessons to Transform Your Marriage: America’s Love Lab Experts Share Their Strategies for Strengthening Your Relationship by John M. Gottman, Julie Schwartz Gottman, and Joan Declaire (2007)

This author is recommended by one of my profs who has been a pastor for 10 years and a psychologist for 30 years. John Gottman and his colleagues have researched and come up with efficacious marriage–saving ideas.

2. Hope-Focused Marriage Counseling: A Guide to Brief Therapy by Everett L. Worthington (2005)

This author “attacks” marriage counseling from a different slant – hope. Instead of focusing on what’s wrong, the focus is on restoring hope in the marriage.

3. The DNA of Relationships for Couples by Dr. Greg Smalley & Dr. Robert S. Paul (2006)

This book explains how to break destructive relationship patterns. I especially like adopting the no-losers policy. This book might present its ideas in a way that will click with some couples.

Websites

4. http://www.troubledwith.com/

This website has “creative advice and practical solutions” for issues like abuse & addiction, life pressures, love & sex, parenting children & teens, relationships, and transitions.

5. http://www.family.org/

The Focus on the Family website has information in the form of books, articles and tapes on the following issues from a Christian perspective: Relationships and Marriage, Parenting, Faith, Entertainment, Life Challenges, and Social Issues.

6. http://www.familylife.com/

Articles, tips, and links on the following topics from a Christian perspective: marriage, parenting, singles and life issues.

7. http://www.lifeway.com/lwc/

Articles and books for areas regarding

life (headlines, viewpoints, entertainment, health and wellness, career and finance, online learning)

ministry (adults, students, women, pastor, and discipleship to name a few areas),

and family (marriage, parenting, homeschool, singles, senior adults, and women).

Entry filed under: Main.

How to Store Excess Oranges (WFMW Tip) Marriage Challenge for the Ladies

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Duker  |  . at .

    Susan, It is funny that you posted this of all things. Me and DH are gettin ready for the BIG 20 which may not be alot for many people but to us it is. When someone asked me what we wanted to do I just said anywhere with him is good for me.
    But am lookin into Hawaii just in case !!!
    My point is a good tune up is needed in any marriage to keep it running just like your auto. =-)………
    I want to keep mine till it is a classic.

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. water man  |  . at .

    Hey I like to think a good marriage is like wine. Not that it gets better with age, but…..well, actually I just wanted to say i really love cheese. ;0) Cheesy I know.

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Theresa Lindamood  |  . at .

    Thanks for posting these resources. Hubby and I are in our ten year of marriage…a drop in the bucket for some, but we started late and we went through a lot the first two years. We are finding that we are in a transition phase, learning how to be the people we’ve become (which is much different than when we married) and learning how to be romantic with children and all the exhaustion that comes with job stresses and family committment. Our honeymoon this summer is one way we are trying to reconnect, a slow down time for us. But I am also looking for ways to find the little things again that keep our friendship as well as the romance fresh in the midst of all the chaos. And I decided to start looking up more scriptures on the wife’s role according to God and praying more about MYSELF and how I can be a gift to my Husband. I decided to be vulnerable and say that here because I am hoping that some of your other readers will offer hints, tips, resources and suggestions as you blog about marriage. You are such a blessing Susan!

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. susan2009  |  . at .

    Tammie,
    Congrats. 20 is a big deal. HA gets my vote – if my vote is needed or even wanted. What is the actual date? What sorts of things do you do to tune up your marriage?

    Water-man,
    I think that marriage will only get better with age, if you make the effort. It isn’t like wine or cheese where it happens naturally.

    Theresa,
    Thanks for your words. I especially liked, “But I am also looking for ways to find the little things again that keep our friendship as well as the romance fresh in the midst of all the chaos.” So important to do.

    I also love that you are praying about yourself to be a gift. I used to tell my husband that he was God’s good gift to me and I hoped I was for him. I think I didn’t do too good a job in that area. But I have been learning about this. And now hope that I am that for others. Thank you for your kind words.

    I will look into gathering hints, tips, resources and suggestions for marriage. I probably won’t add too many of my ideas, since I am a “failure” in that area. I’m growing though.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


60 Acts of Kindness, Intentional & Random to do my 60th year

The Finish Date.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 795 other subscribers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories