2 Ways I Fed My Creative Side

. at . 5 comments

 In February I fed my creative side. I read out loud (with my daughter) & crafted.

mabookOur read aloud book for February was The Hidden Diary of Marie Antoinette: A Novel.

  • Since neither my daughter or I speak French, it was difficult to pronounce (and thus keep straight) the many, many French names of people and places.
  • I was also disappointed with the story line. Even though it was a work of fiction, it was touted as an historical work. So, I expected that the author, Carolly Erickson, would use her previous research (she wrote a biography of Marie Antoinette) for this book too. Instead Erickson left out historical people and episodes and made up others. Why do authors/screenwriters do that? The real life story is exciting enough!

We read 224 of the 341 pages of the book. Many days would pass between readings. This was not our norm.

One day while driving home from the grocery store, I asked dd, “Shall we give up on Marie?”

“Yes. Yes, I think we should.” So we did.

Go here for 10 Tips to make reading out loud more enjoyable for adults.

web_ready_01_tins1Crafting has been a blast this month. I made 2 types of tea favours for my table at the annual missionary tea. First, I took a small candle in a pretty, round tin, glued ribbon around the lid and glued a flower on top.

Second, I made flower pens. Until I gave them to my table guests I arranged them in a vase and used it as a centerpiece. 12_meringue           

I made 2 dozen pies, berry and lemon meringue; they were made from Sculpey clay.  What we don’t sell at our bake sale, we’ll sell through etsy, an online shop. (The Women’s Ministry team and I made 5 kinds of pies for our tea magnets. See here for pix of other years’ magnets.)

Even though I am a busy woman, I see that I NEED to exercise my creativity on a regular basis. This keeps me sane and happy. Plus, it is so much fun. Life is too short to not have fun. I notice that all my crafting projects have been for others. So this is a win-win for everyone.  🙂

My January creativity is recorded here.

Entry filed under: Books, Crafts. Tags: , , , .

How Would You Evaluate a Retreat? Chicken Enchiladas: Gluten-, Egg- & Dairy-Free

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Elizabeth Symington  |  . at .

    This was such a fun month being creative with you.

    I did finish Marie, which was a much better read alone book than out loud.

    Looking forward to our next book that we’ll read together. Can’t wait to design with you a blurb book of your posts from your 50th year. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. lynette  |  . at .

    Maybe you should try reading out aloud a funny story, something to laugh outloud together with.

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Theresa  |  . at .

    Thanks for the heads up on Marie Antoinette! I rented the Sophia Coppola movie at the library and was disappointed in that too. Not that it wasn’t mostly historical but it was definitely made for the MTV set. I enjoy reading about female royal figures… not so much because I am a fan of royalty but because the majority of these women lived in a time when women had NO power, but they had some in varying degrees and because they had nothing whatsoever to do with being born royal – and some made good with the situation and some bad. Some were incredibly intelligent and creative and others were dull snobs. Some did great things and some dastardly deeds. Underlying it all is the fact that they were still women who dealt with some of the same types of issues that I do and that women today still face.

    I’m glad you have been able to be crafty. I cannot go long without being creative or I get increasingly stressed.

    Hope you had a wonderful birthday!

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Holly  |  . at .

    I have a hard time giving up on a book, but sometimes it just has to be done!
    Thanks for visiting my blog 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. Kaycee  |  . at .

    I need to spend more time crafting. I’ve definitely noticed that creativity is a “use or lose” attribute.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join Me For Write31Days 2016

59 Musicals to Watch During my 59th year

The Finish DateApril 1st, 2018
5 months to go.

Latest Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 751 other followers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories


