31 Days of Becoming a Cat Mom

. at . Leave a comment

During the month of October I will write about cat things. I am writing with others under the hashtag #writingtogetherfor31days. A large part of the writing will be research. I want answers to questions so I can learn how to be a better mom. I.e. how to get Todd to play, what food will entice Graham to eat, why does Todd keep biting my toes, and how come Graham ignores me during the day.

Day 1: Making Space
In April 2023, my daughter brought home Graham, a tabby kitten. Todd, my black kitten, joined us in May. Their needs have taken over spaces in each room except the bathroom. I was unprepared since I’m new at this. These spaces are physical and emotional.

They occupy the space under things. My bed, the mini trampoline, and my feet are prime examples. They utilize the space under the blue chair as a war room where they wait to pounce. They use the space under rugs to hide their face toys. Graham likes to hide hair elastics. Todd prefers to tuck his straws there.

The space on top of things is also their domain. Some favourite hang out spots are on the brick fireplace mantel, in my full dirty clothes hamper, and on my dresser between two stacks of items. And like ALL cats (so I hear), they also claim the space on top of the counters, beds, and laps (when it is their idea).

Our kittens need space for their physicals possessions. We have had to relocate some of our items in order to provide space for their things: beds, towers. toys, food, hygiene items, and litter boxes. They seem to need more and more space. I probably should stay off Amazon One Click.

They also need space from us. Well, I don;t know if it is a need, want, or expectation. But both cats make it clear when they want their own space AWAY from us. I foolishly thought that when ever I sat, Todd or Graham would grace my lap. I hear of some cats who do this, but not our cats.

Space in our home is a give-and-take. Right now, it is mainly the humans giving. One space that hasn’t been hard to give up is the space in my heart. I didn’t expect to love these two kittens so much. That is why I want to become a more informed mom and playmate.

Prayer: Dear Lord, Help me to be wise about the space I occupy. What needs to stay? What goes? How do I beautify my space so that it doesn’t tempt the kittens to destroy/eat/knock it over. Let me be mindful about giving our feline house members the space they need without taking it personally. FInally, Lord, let these 31 Days of Writing teach me to be a better cat mom. Amen.

Your Turn …… Do you have a cat (or two)? …… Where have you given up space for your feline love?

Entry filed under: Main.

Reviewing What Works For Incorporating Gratitude

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


60 Acts of Kindness, Intentional & Random to do my 60th year

The Finish Date.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 795 other subscribers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories