Kindness is Writing a Letter

. at . 2 comments

 

Do you write letters on a regular basis?

I like to. In fact, I have several letter writing projects on this blog.

However, I got bogged down and didn’t keep either project as an ongoing habit.

Today I received a letter from a friend who lives locally. She moved to a different area and attends a different church. I let my life overrun my schedule. We were out-of-touch with one another. My friend gave a recap of her year and shared answered prayers. I felt such joy reading about the faithfulness of God in her life.

Her letter reminded me of our shared interests and love for one another. Her letter rekindled a desire to make this friendship a priority. I texted her right away to say, “Yes, let’s meet up.”

This weekend, I will take time to write her. Yes, I will do that even though we will see one another soon. I want my friend to receive the same joy I had after reading her letter to me. After all, kindness is writing a letter.

Can writing a letter really be called kindness? Yes! If the letter is attentive, considerate, friendly, and thoughtful, it is a kind act. Both the writer and recipient benefit from this kind act. Such letters reaffirm friendship, reminisce on shared history, and remind of what’s important in life – people.

I want to get back to my letter-writing habit. It is a great way to let others know how important they are to me. So, I am going back to setting aside the third Sunday of each month as a letter-writing time. (March 15th will be my first time to do this.) Of course, I can write more letters than this, but my realistic goal is once a month.

Your Turn . . .

  • Do you think letter writing is an important habit to cultivate?
  • Do you see it as an act of kindness?
  • When was the last time you wrote a letter? How did you feel after writing it? How was it received?
  • Will you write a letter this week?

Related Posts . . . 

You can practice being kind by leaving me a comment. 

Please leave me an idea or two that I can add to my acts of kindness list. The idea can be intentional or random.

_____________________________________________

Want to know what other acts of Kindness are on the list? Go to my Landing Page . . Scattering Kindness: A 31 Day Adventure of Intentional & Random Acts of Service.  

Entry filed under: Random acts of kindness. Tags: , , , , .

Kindness is Being on Time Friday’s Fave Five – February 28, 2020

2 Comments Add your own

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


60 Acts of Kindness, Intentional & Random to do my 60th year

The Finish Date.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 795 other subscribers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories