7 Ways You Can Make Me Stay Longer At Your Blog

. at . 10 comments

I am always on the look out for ways to make my blog better for the reader and easier for me to do. Therefore I am always on the look out for new ideas. I Gotta Create is hosting a Bloggy Tips 101 Linky Party. Her top 3 tips are (1) Put your name on your blog. (2) Turn off word verification. (3) Upload the right size photos. Go here to read her why and how.

What would you add? Go here to link up your tip(s) post.

Last February (2011) my goal was to read 100 blogs. I wanted to see what I could learn and I wanted to  leave comments.

I find that I tend to read quickly. I understand that is how most of us read when on the Internet. Below are 7 ways you can make me stay longer at your blog.

  1. Home button. Put a home button on your blog. Makes it soooo much easier to get back to your first page. Often I will want to explore your blog further, so make it easier on us readers by installing this.
  2. Search box. Same thing as #1. Sometimes I go back to your blog because I read a post there and I didn’t bookmark it. If you have a search function, it is quite easy to find it. Or if I read about a topic on your site and want to see if you have anything else on this same topic, the search box is vital.
  3. Playlist. I don’t like going to sites that have a playlist for three reasons. (1) I like it quiet when I read. (2) I usually have multiple pages open at the same time and it is disturbing to hear music from multiple sites. And if multiple sites are open, it is hard for me to find which one has the music playing. (3) If I am in the mood for music, I have my own music playing. So again I will have music from multiple sources.
  4. Black background. I find it hard to read pages and pages of white type on black background.  When I come to a blog like that, I rarely read it.
  5. rss versus email subscription. I like being able to subscribe to your blog through the rss feed. I like the idea of being able to see all the blogs I subscribe to on my Google reader. I don’t like the only option being an email subscription. I already get too many emails. If that is my only choice, I rarely subscribe.
  6. About Me page. I always check this when I get to a new blog. It helps me decide if this is a blog I want to pursue further. It is helpful if there is a picture of you there. One reason I read blogs is for community or a sense of connection (many of you said the same thing). Having a photo and well written About Me page helps with that.
  7. Related posts. I like it when the writer will suggest related posts (from their own archives). That way I can keep reading about the topic without a lot of work on my part. This is especially helpful if you don’t have categories at your blog.
P.S. I HATE word verification, too!!! So much so that I will usually NOT leave a comment if I have to go through these hoops.
Your Turn . . . What would you add to this list?

Related Posts   . . .  Top Two Things I’ve Learned About Blogging

7 Things to NOT Have on Your Blog written by Mom Crunch. Mom’s #1 & #2 are the same as my #3 & 4. Go to her site to read the other 5. In a word each they are about: Stealing, Sidebar, Spelling, Swearing, and Schedule.

8 Ways to Engage Visitors Longer on Your Blog This post has ideas I didn’t include on my list.

NOTE: This is an updated post from February 2011.

Entry filed under: Learning, Main. Tags: , , .

Most Viewed Posts from 2011 Short Class Yields High Impact: How to Study the Bible

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Piglet in Portugal  |  . at .

    I like Blogs which file their posts by category not by month. I also don’t like bright background fluorescent colours, black or red with white print. Looks funky but not restful on the eyes.

    I know I’ve lots of improvement to make on my blog – so interesting to know peoples likes and dislikes 🙂 and constructive comments always gratefully received.
    I don’t have a search box – so good point. HAve added to my to do list! 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. susan2009  |  . at .

    Thanks for visiting Piglet,

    I prefer posts to be filed by category too. Someday I am going to have a table of contents for each of my categories. But since it will be a big job to do, I am procrastinating on that. Maybe someday I will find there is an app that does this.

    I hear you about background colours that are not restful on the eyes. I am finding this to be more of an issue the older my eyes get. 🙂

    Something I love about your blog is the various photos you have: the row of photos in the banner, the photos in your posts, and the flickr photos along the lower right hand side. I’ve never been to Portugal and likely won’t. But your photos help me see what your beautiful country is like. Thanks for letting me do some armchair travelling!

    It is helpful to know others likes and dislikes. Soon I will be compiling a list of ideas from T2T about the top 2 things I’ve learned about blogging.

    I also know I need to do some things differently on my blog. Like I know I have too many categories. It is so hard to narrow them down! I also welcome constructive comments. So if you have some, please share!!

    I look forward to using your search box! Also, I did try to sign up for your rss feed but all it gave me was a page full of text. I don’t know what that means. Luckily I can remember your blog name and so it is easy to check your blog regularly. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Christina @ I Gotta Create!  |  . at .

    These are Excellent Tips and feedback to bloggers! Thank you SO much for {1} Sharing this over at my Blog Tips & Resolutions party, and {2} giving me such a great shout-out here!! It’s great to learn from one another. I’m going to have to figure out how to install a search box!! ❤ Christina

    Like

    Reply
    • 4. susan2009  |  . at .

      Hi Christina,
      I am so glad I discovered your blog. Your Blog Tips and Resolution party is just ONE of the many posts I’ve enjoyed reading. I am looking forward to creating with you in 2012.

      Like

  • These are really great tips and while I’ve not been dumb about them, I guess I never really knew what their purpose was and why people might want them. Thank You for clearing up the Search and RSS features for me and I will try to work on adding those to my own blog. I have been working on getting the header buttons set up and adding Related Posts, but haven’t finished that up yet. I was working on putting tags in my posts yesterday so that I can categorize too.Yeesh! So many things, but I’m getting there (I hope!).

    I used to be very computer and internet savvy, but since I have been out of the workforce for over 10 years now, I haven’t had the NEED to stay on top of these things anymore. LOL!

    Like

    Reply
    • 6. susan2009  |  . at .

      Beth, I agree, it doesn’t take long to get out of the loop computer/Internet-wise. Luckily there are many tutorials that educate us in these realms.

      I REALLY need to take care of my categories. They have gone wild! It seems like such a big deal to organize so I’ve just ignored them.

      I really like it when a blog author adds related posts. I will often stay much longer (than I originally intended) because of going from one post to another.

      Like

  • 7. Gillian Rouge  |  . at .

    Great tips, Susan. Thanks for sharing. Seems from your other comments that the search box is something that often gets forgotten on blogs. I went to my blog to figure out how to add one, and it is already there. Who knew! I agree with you that the Home button is very important. I have been using that on your blog a lot this evening! Also a blog that is pleasing on the eye (calming colors and not too fussy) and one that is easy to navigate are things that will make me stay.

    Like

    Reply
    • 8. susan2009  |  . at .

      Good points, Gillian, about the pleasing colour scheme and easy navigability. Your blog has both!

      So glad you found your search box. I think all blogspot blogs have it in that same place.

      Like

  • I featured you this week over at my place! Thanks again for linking up! http://igottacreate.blogspot.com/2012/02/blog-tips-cafe-feature-4-and-party.html

    Like

    Reply
    • 10. susan2009  |  . at .

      Thanks, Christina. That’s an honour.

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


60 Acts of Kindness, Intentional & Random to do my 60th year

The Finish Date.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 795 other subscribers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories