My cooking means someone died?

. at . 8 comments

Me on the phone: “Hi Sweetie, I’m cooking up some tuna noodle casserole. I had forgotten how yummy that is especially with fresh mushrooms. I already made . . .”

Daughter talks over me: “Did someone die?!”

Me: (I continue with my monologue) “. . . lemon poppy seed muffins. I just need to slice the” (I stop mid-sentence.) “Did you just ask me if someone died?”

Daughter: “Yeeh-es! You only cook if someone dies or has a baby.*

Sad commentary of how my life is now. I used to be a stay-at-home wife and homeschool mom who liked to cook one time a month meals. We rarely ate fast food and I liked entertaining.

Now I hardly cook (as noted by my daughter) and as of September, I will live alone** with Chip.*** I’ve been thinking a lot about hospitality this week and what happened to me.

Besides having out-of-whack priorities, entertaining in my home reminds me of what I used to have. And sometimes it still hurts to remember what I lost. What the whole family lost. So I stopped living that part of me.

Doodah said (at 10:32 a.m.) she is the one who feels spoiled when she extends hospitality. I remember that feeling. (At least when I wasn’t trying to be a Martha by excelling in ALL the homemaking arts hours before the arrival of our guests.)

I believe that God wants me to live abundantly in all areas of my life. Hospitality and what it brings up is one such area. “Lord, help me to find a way to say ‘yes’ to You.”

* I wasn’t cooking because someone died or had a baby.**** I was cooking a meal for my son. He is the one I decided to be hospitable towards this week. More on this in a future post.

** My son is moving to the Bay area in September. Well, most likely, probably, ok, maybe. With my son, I’ll know when it actually happens.

*** Chip is my 13 year old apricot, miniature toy poodle. His former people called him Peaches. Don’t tell me “names can never hurt me.” Chip still has some issues regarding his birth name.

**** Some lovely people (R & M) in our church did have a baby boy, G. Congratualtions! He is premature, but will be home soon.

Entry filed under: Hospitality, Main, Meditations, Susan's World.

Now These Are Fruitful Words One purpose of hospitality is refreshment

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lorna  |  . at .

    Susan,
    when my kids were smaller (they’ve learned better), I would get up on a Sat. morning and decide to really clean my house. My kids would ask,”Who’s comin’ over?” or I would shower and fix my hair maybe put on a little make-up and the would ask, “where ya goin’?” Sad huh?? I’m excited you want to start living that part of your life again! God is so good.

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. doodah!  |  . at .

    It makes sense that you would avoid activities that elicit painful memories/feelings.

    I hope these new steps into hospitality can be one way that God redeems what has been stolen from you, and gives it back all shiney and new. Restored. Refined.

    One of my favorite quotes from Lord of the Rings (ROTK movie): “You will live to see these days renewed.”

    May it be so!

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. Susan  |  . at .

    Lorna and Doodah,
    Thanks for the encouragement.
    Restored, refined, renewed – sounds like something our God can do.

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Lorna  |  . at .

    as for the cooking. I cooked at workcamp … both DD and TS said to EVERYONE this is more cooking than she’s done all year. And they were more or less right.

    I think I need to change my priorities a little (sigh)

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. Susan  |  . at .

    Lorna,

    Wow – cooking at workcamp – what a JOB!

    God and I are talking about my priorites as well. What’s so cool about that (imho) is that God desires for me to be “rested” while doing His will not all stressed out, tired, etc.

    I know sometimes I will be the above, but it’s the pattern of my life that I desire to change.

    Like

    Reply
  • […] by filling out the Meals Ministry Sign Up Form, bring something to  Neighborhood Meals, make a special meal for your family, or take dinner to […]

    Like

    Reply
  • […] Posts . . .   My cooking means someone died? . . .  My Recipe […]

    Like

    Reply
  • […] other posts I’ve written on hospitality. (1) My cooking means someone died? (2) How Messy Is Too Messy or When Is It Clean Enough To Have Folks Over? (3) Hospitality […]

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


60 Acts of Kindness, Intentional & Random to do my 60th year

The Finish Date.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 795 other subscribers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories