D: DESSERT is DARK Chocolate Cream Pie

. at . 12 comments

I received this chocolate bar for my birthday. I thought it would be perfect for this recipe.

I received this chocolate bar for my birthday. I thought it would be perfect for this recipe.

I am on a pie-making quest these next 11.5 months. During that time my aim is to make 55 pies. So far I’ve made 3: a nut pie,a frozen pie and a fruit pie. And yesterday I made a chocolate cream pie. 

Go here to read why I am doing this.

There are soooo many chocolate pie recipes. From full-fat to non-fat. 

  • The recipes called for 12 ounces to 4 cups of milk (evaporated, non-fat, 2%, whole, and half and half).
  • The amount of eggs varied from 2-6. Some recipes had you separate the yolks in order to use only those. Some used the whole egg.
  • The amount of chocolate varied from 3-6 ounces of a good quality chocolate or unsweetened chocolate. A few recipes called for chocolate powder.

I gave away half of this pie. I did this for two reasons. (1) I don’t need to eat a whole pie! (2) And more importantly, I wanted to say thank you to a friend, Lynette, who works with me in children’s ministry. Her dedication to the program, families, kiddos, and me is obvious and appreciated.

I looked at the pie recipes and then put together a recipe by using the ingredients I had on hand.

Filling Ingredients

  • 3 cups half & half
  • 2/3 cup sugar
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup half & half (to put with cornstarch and yolks)
  • 3.5 tbsp cornstarch
  • 4 large egg yolks
  • 3.5  oz high quality chocolate, chopped 
  • 2 tbsp butter, chopped
  • 1.5 tsp vanilla extract

Pie crust of choice. I used a pre-made 9 oz graham cracker crust (2 extra servings size). Next time I will try a regular dough crust. I thought the graham cracker flavour over-powered the chocolate taste.

NOTE: You don’t have to chop either the chocolate or butter too small as the heat will melt chunks quite nicely.

Directions

  1. Put 3 cups of half & half, the sugar, and salt in a saucepan.  Stir over medium heat until a light simmer. Take pan off the heat.
  2. While the sweetened half & half mixture is cooling in the pan, whisk cornstarch into 1/2 cup half & half in a large bowl. Thoroughly whisk in egg yolks one at a a time.
  3. When sweetened half & half mixture is coolish (5-8 minutes off heat) slowly pour it into the large bowl, whisking thoroughly.
  4. Pour all this back into saucepan on medium heat.
  5. Stir constantly until the pudding boils.
  6. Lower to medium-low heat and cook for 2 minutes.The pudding should be thick.
  7. Take off the heat.
  8. Add chocolate and butter and stir until both are completely melted.
  9. Stir in vanilla.
  10. Pour this chocolate mixture into pie shell and smooth the top with the back of a heated large spoon.
  11. Leave on counter until cool and then refrigerate. If you eat the pie too soon, it will not keep its shape when you cut into it.
  12. Top with whipped cream or cool whip, home-made or store-bought

Your Turn . . . Share your favourite chocolate pie recipe.

Related Posts . . . 

NOTE: This post is written for the Blogging From A to Z Challenge. There are 22 categories and my category is MI = Miscellaneous.
During the month of April I will post 26 times finishing up posts that have been in my draft fie for at least a year. For a list of all the posts go to the A-Z button on my header.
Today’s letter is D. The topic is DESSERT: DARK Chocolate Cream Pie.

Entry filed under: 55th Birthday Yearlong Plan, Main, Recipes. Tags: , , .

C: Easy to Make CLAY Crosses Using Homemade Dough E: 7 Ways to EXCHANGE Grumpy for Happy

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Bames  |  . at .

    I love dark chocolate and I thing your recipe is fantastic. But I am not a very good baker so I may just have to pass it on to a friend and then sample the finished product at her house… 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    • 2. susan2009  |  . at .

      Hello Bames, If you can make pudding you can make this recipe. But I like your plan of having someone else make it for you. 😉

      Thanks for visiting.

      Like

  • 3. hiddenlives  |  . at .

    I am drooling! Well, that and making sure I keep this recipe 🙂
    Thank you!

    Peace.

    Like

    Reply
    • 4. susan2009  |  . at .

      I think you will enjoy this pie, Hidden Lives. Let me know if you make it.

      The one change (not put in this post) I would make is to add a few more ounces of chocolate.

      Like

  • 5. hilarymb  |  . at .

    Hi Susan .. love a good healthy dessert – especially if chocolate is on the menu – and dark chocolate at that ..

    Enjoy the A – Z .. cheers Hilary

    Like

    Reply
    • 6. susan2009  |  . at .

      Hi Hilary,
      Thanks for visiting. I am enjoying the A-Z. It is more of a challenge than I expected – esp coming up with A-Z titles.
      Your blog is very interesting. 😉

      Like

  • 7. Angela Tague  |  . at .

    OMG, that looks sinfully wonderful! Good luck on your pie making challenge!

    Like

    Reply
    • 8. susan2009  |  . at .

      Thanks, Angela, this is a lovely and tasty type of challenge. 51 more pies to go!

      Like

  • Chocolate is good anytime! Haven’t baked since Christmas.

    Like

    Reply
    • 10. susan2009  |  . at .

      Hello JL. Thanks for visiting. Maybe it’s time to do some baking. If you make any pies, plese, be sure to let me know. As you know I am looking for recipes.

      Like

  • 11. susanroebuck  |  . at .

    Hi Susan! Love recipes and this one looks delicious (I’d eat the whole of it with no problem whatsoever).

    Like

    Reply
    • 12. susan2009  |  . at .

      Hello back Susan, I,too, could eat a whole pie which is why I give away at least half. I don’t want to gain back the weight I’ve lost this past year.

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


60 Acts of Kindness, Intentional & Random to do my 60th year

The Finish Date.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 795 other subscribers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories