My 2016 BINGO Reading Challenge

. at . Leave a comment

My 2016 Reading BINGO List. The first of many for this year.

My 2016 Reading BINGO List.

Are you competitive?

I am. I am even competitive in my reading. Therefore reading challenges spur me on to read more consistently. Last year my goal was to read 57 books.

Did I make that goal? YES! And I did so with 30 books to spare!!!

This year, (starting in my birth month) I want to read 58 books. I will use various “techniques” to get there. One such technique is using BINGO.

In past years I have used other people’s BINGO lists. This year I came up with one of my own. I picked categories because I like to read a bunch of books from the same author, from a series, etc. In other words, I LIKE to batch read from categories.

Below are the 5 categories I finally settled on

  • 5 Books by the Author Charles Dickens
  • 5 Books I’ve Never Finished
  • 5 Books from the Gilmore Girls Books List
  • 5 Books from the The Mitford Series by Jan Karon
  • 5 Books That Have Been Recommended
  • . My list of books is at the very end of this post.

You can go here to fill out and then print your own BINGO Reading List card.

Each time I make a BINGO, I will allow myself a treat. As I am not so good in the reward department, I am not sure what that will be. I would like it to be book related.

  •  I don’t want to buy another book as there are TONS of choices on my Kindle and bookshelves and from the library.
  • Maybe read a book not ON THE LIST?
  • Give me some ideas, please!
  • And when I get a BLACKOUT, at that time I will BUY a book from my Amazon Wish List. I have hundreds to choose from. Seriously.

Your Turn . . . 

  • Are you competitive – even in reading?
  • Do you ever do BINGO Reading Challenges? Why? And how do you reward yourself for completing a BINGO? A blackout?
  • Have you ever made up your own BINGO list? If yes, how about linking it?
  • If you were to design one similar to mine, what categories would you include?
  • How many of the books on my list have you already read? The list is at the end of this post.
  • It would be so fun if you’d read along with me. Let me know if you decide to.

Related Posts . . . 

Below are the books in each category. Of course I reserve the right to make changes at any time!

5 Dickens Books

  1. Oliver Twist
  2. The Old Curiosity Shop
  3. Our Mutual Friend
  4. David Copperfield
  5. The Pickwick Papers‎

5 Unfinished Books

  1. Moby Dick by Herman Melville
  2. War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy 
  3. Simply Christian by NT Wright
  4. The Imitation of Christ by Thomas à Kempis
  5. Unmapped Darkness by Thomas Finch

5 Gilmore Girls Books

  1. S is for Silence by Sue Grafton
  2. Angela’s Ashes by Frank McCourt
  3. Elle Minnow Pea by
  4. Atonement by Ian McEwan
  5. Autobiography of a Face by Lucy Grealy

5 Mitford Books

  1. These High, Green Hills
  2. Out to Canaan
  3. A New Song
  4. A Common Life: the Wedding Story
  5. In This Mountain

5 Recommended Books

  1. The Passage by Justin Cronin (Barb)
  2. Chocolate Snowman Murders by Joanna Carl
  3. The Neverending Story by Michael Ende (Elizabeth)
  4. Four Seasons in Rome: On Twins, Insomnia, and the Biggest Funeral in the History of the World by Anthony Doerr
  5. The Lost Island by Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child (book 3/4)

 

Entry filed under: Books, goals, Main. Tags: , , .

I Read 87 Books in 2015 Preparing for Life’s Emergencies: 19 Ideas

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


60 Acts of Kindness, Intentional & Random to do my 60th year

The Finish Date.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 795 other subscribers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories