Kindness is Delivering Meals

. at . 9 comments

This post is part of #Write31Days where bloggers write every day in October on one topic. I am writing about Acts of Kindness, random and otherwise. It is my hope that my community and I are different as a result of this 31 Day Series.

___________________

Many folks are willing to make a meal for someone else. But for a variety of reasons, they cannot deliver the meal, especially if the recipient doesn’t live locally. Therefore, they think they cannot be part of this act of kindness.

This is where I come in. I offer to deliver the meals. Even though I didn’t shop and prepare the meal, I get to be part of this act of kindness. Win-Win for everyone.

Sometimes being kind doesn’t take a lot of time or money.

But it is appreciated all the same.

Your Turn . . .  Have you ever been the driver of prepared meals? . . . Would you find it helpful to be part of such a team: food preparer and driver? . . . Please share any acts of kindness I can add to my list.

The next time you organize meals, ask if it would be helpful for someone else to deliver the meals. You don’t have to be the driver, as I bet there are others who will volunteer for that act of kindness.  . . .If you do this, please let me know how it goes.

You can practice being kind by leaving me a comment. 

My Landing Page for This series . . . Scattering Kindness: A 31 Day Adventure.  Please leave me an idea or two that I can add to my acts of kindness list. The idea can be intentional or random.

Go here for yesterday’s post: Kindness is Organizing Meals.

Previous #Write31Days Topics

Thanks go to Elizabeth Symington for making my #Write31Days button and basic graphic for the kindness quotes.

Entry filed under: Random acts of kindness. Tags: , , , .

Kindness is Organizing Meals for One in Need Kindness is Making a Phone Call

9 Comments Add your own

  • I love this idea… my husband volunteered for Meals on Wheels for years and loved it, but somehow I have never thought of this opportunity? I am surrounded by friends who love to cook, but they are all so busy… I’m sure this simple act would bless them, as well as the one receiving the meal! Great idea!

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. wendyj59  |  . at .

    That’s a good way of helping out. My hubby used to drive a minibus operating a soup run for the homeless but then due to various circumstances he couldn’t drive and he never really got back into it.

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. sharybary  |  . at .

    I love what you said about being kind and leaving a comment! I’m so happy to do that! And I know exactly what you mean! Comments can make someone’s day, not just bloggers but people we meet! I’m not much of a cook and not much time available for delivering, but I love your fresh ideas! It’s getting my creativity stirred up! And keeping kindness on my mind!

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. Anita Ojeda  |  . at .

    So, I’ve only delivered meals a few times–what usually stops me is that I don’t have anything on hand and I’m so busy I have a rough time cooking for our family. But, I’ve started bulk cooking–if I’m making one pan of lasagne, I might as well make 8 pans and put them in the freezer for sharing or unexpected guests.

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. Barbie  |  . at .

    I’ve taken so many meals to new moms, those who are sick. I am on the schedule to bring dinner to a family later this month. Such an important way to bless others in their time of need.

    Like

    Reply
  • […] Go here for yesterday’s post: Kindness is Delivering Meals. […]

    Like

    Reply
  • […] Delivering Meals […]

    Like

    Reply
  • […] Kindness is Delivering Meals […]

    Like

    Reply
  • […] and thoughtful. Kindness sees a need and fills it. Sometimes that need is commonplace like delivering a meal or writing a letter. Sometimes it requires more of a conscious effort like becoming an organ […]

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


60 Acts of Kindness, Intentional & Random to do my 60th year

The Finish Date.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 795 other subscribers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories