New Year’s Resolutions (Doompocalypse Redux)

. at . Leave a comment

youarehere2013 is a different type of year. According to a  doomsday writer, Michael Pick, from Worpress.com  the Mayan calendar was misunderstood and the end of the world is still coming.

[Because now] there’s a gigantic meteor hurtling toward earth at an alarming rate, and a 97.3% probability that we’re all going the way of the dodos and dinosaurs within three months [March 2013].

  • So, this year you aren’t going to make resolutions about losing a notch on your belt.
  • You aren’t going to concern yourself about polishing off Remembrance of Things Past once and for all.
  • You don’t even care a jot about emptying your email inbox.

In three months, doompocalpyse is going to be upon us. So what are you going to do?

Below is the New Year’s Resolution challenge set before us by wordpress.com.

You’re going to do what any good blogger does. You’re going to blog some resolutions that matter:

Tell us about the three things you’d most like to change about your life, and make a bold I-don’t-care-who-knows-it-because-there’s-a-meteor-a-comin’ assertion to the world that you are going to get these changes made.

And that you’ll have at least started making them happen by March. When, erm, you’re probably going to wind up as dust.

I’ve been thinking about how I would behave if this was indeed my last 3 months. I’ve been thinking about it so much I woke up dreaming about it this morning.
If this was the world’s last three months  . . . .
  1. I would study.
  2. I would connect.
  3. I would maintain and incorporate healthy habits.
One. I will study with the intent to share what I learn. While people are still alive, there is the need to know about the Bible. There is still the need to share and know about the Lord. Eternal lives are at stake. That is why this is my number one resolve.
The two bold, I-don’t-care-who-knows-it-because-there’s-a-meteor-a-comin’, resolutions I will make in this area are as follows . . .
  • I will study more for my mid-week group (66 Love Letters). And I will make sure I share ways to apply the material to our lives. Finally as a group we will figure out how to share what we learn with others. As a bonus, I plan on reading the Bible in 4 months. Hope I am around to do the April readings. lol
  • I will finish three of the papers I need to do for my consecration. I will do this with the purpose of sharing the information with my mid-week group. I have procrastinated enough in this area. These papers need to be done so I can share the content which can impact lives.
Two. I will connect with each person from where I work, friends, and family. Because after all life is about relationships. If this is the last three months I have to be with all these people, I want to make sure that I meaningfully connect with each one.
The three bold, I-don’t-care-who-knows-it-because-there’s-a-meteor-a-comin’, resolutions I will make in this area are as follows . . .
  • I will call/visit each person and share an encouragement. Too many times I don’t thank those around me for their attitudes, tangible help, long-term examples, friendship, or prayer. This call/visit is the time to share at least one way they’ve encouraged me. This would even be a good time to give them a blessing.
  • I will pray for each person either during the visit or right afterwards. I will pray about their concerns . I will pray about their eternal destiny. I believe that prayer is powerful and is the most important thing I can do for another person.
  • I will listen. Other than sharing an encouragement, I don’t have an agenda for the visit. So I will listen to their hurts, questions, and where ever the conversation takes us. I won’t necessarily have any answers  But I know that as I try to figure things out, one of the most previous gifts anyone can give me is space to just talk.
Three. I will maintain and incorporate healthy habits. I will do this so that I could have the stamina (physically, emotionally, and mentally) to faithfully and tirelessly do the above two resolves. By doing these things I will lose 15-20 pounds by the end of March, if by (2.7%) chance I am still here.
The three bold, I-don’t-care-who-knows-it-because-there’s-a-meteor-a-comin’, resolutions I will make in this area are as follows . . .
  • I will go to bed by 10:30 each night. Sleep has always been an issue for me. For these next three months (and maybe last months of my life), I am going to adhere to this goal each night.
  • I will have good eating habits by doing the following four things. (1) I will do the pantry challenge, (2) take cod liver oil 2x’s a day, (3) drink a smoothie daily, and (4) not eat out (except for Tuesdays) for these three months.
  • I will exercise 30 minutes each day. Since I live such a sedentary life, this is especially important for me to do. This helps me sleep better at night and gives me energy.

NOTE: I know I wrote that I will do these things “every day.” I will actually be quite chuffed, if I manage to do these things 4-5 times each week until the end of March.

So here are my goals, resolutions, resolves until the end of the world, or the end of 2013, which ever comes first.
Your Turn . . . What are your goals, resolutions, resolves for 2013, the next three months, or until the end of the world?
Related Posts . . .

Entry filed under: goals, Main. Tags: , .

Favourite Quotes from Help, Thanks, Wow: The Three Essential Prayers by Anne Lamott Memorable Posts from 2012 (Part 1)

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


60 Acts of Kindness, Intentional & Random to do my 60th year

The Finish Date.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 795 other subscribers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories