Grateful 43 – Things about Operation Christmas Child

. at . 3 comments

Day 17 – Things about Operation Christmas Child

I have been donating FULL shoeboxes to Operation Christmas Child (OCC) since 2003. I’ve enjoyed the shopping, praying and packing.

I am grateful 4 3 things about OCC.

ONE. Helping bring a smile to children who don’t have a lot. I’ve read that a child will get only one shoebox in their lifetime –  (there are that many needy children). So getting this boxful of presents (toys, school supplies, clothing, hygiene items, etc) is a BIG deal. And getting this boxful of pressies brings a smile.

TWO. Sharing the Gospel. The children who get the boxes also get to hear about Jesus’ love. Hopefully long after the box of gifts are gone, the child will remember how loved they are. My prayer is that that TRUTH will impact their life forever.

THREE. Camaraderie. This year some of us gals from church have gathered to make things for the shoeboxes. My fun and satisfaction have doubled. We’ve met twice a month. We’ve learned new things and met new people. We’ve prayed for the box recipients. We’ve chatted, celebrated National Hobbit Day and laughed. And of course we shared snacks. And best of all our friendships are growing.

BONUS – FOUR. Dresses and Pads. We’ve made sure that all our girl boxes get a dress and our older girl boxes get cloth menstrual pads. Both are NEEDED and often these girls don’t have them. I am grateful that I get to be part of a group that supplies such necessary items.

Your Turn . . . Do you pack OCC boxes? . . . If yes, why are you grateful for this opportunity? . . .  If you haven’t done so before, will you consider a packing box? Directions are here.

NOTE: Our church (Cordova Neighborhood Church near Sacramento) is a drop off spot for OCC boxes. The deadline to turn them in is November 12, 2017.

I am writing a gratitude series titled Grateful 43. I will do this for 43 days. And I will write three things for which I am grateful 4 each topic. Do you see the play on the words 43 and FOR THREE?  Go here for the 43 Days of Gratitude JOURNAL Prompts

Related Posts . . . 

Entry filed under: Main. Tags: .

Grateful 43 – Things about the Ocean Friday’s Fave Five September 29th, 2017

3 Comments Add your own

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


60 Acts of Kindness, Intentional & Random to do my 60th year

The Finish Date.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 795 other subscribers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories