Grateful 43 – Things about my #MultiplyCNC Small Group

. at . 2 comments

“Having small group once a week gives me a lot of encouragement and accountability. Even though I go to church, I don’t really know many people there, but my real community is my small group.” ~ Jeremy Lin

I do know a lot of people at church. I want to get to better know those people and others but church-time isn’t the time to get to know folks better. Church-time is the time to worship God. The community part happens before or after church like in a small group.

It has been awhile since I’ve been part of a small group. I’ve missed this personalized encouragement, accountability, and community that comes from being part of an ongoing small group.

This past week our church launched small groups to go with a new series Pastor Mike and Pastor Phil will be preaching: Multiply: Disciples Making Disciples by Francis Chan.

Last night I met up with my new group. And even though we’ve only met once I am already grateful. I am grateful 4 3 things about my Multiply small group.

ONE. They kept me on my toes. We didn’t just agree with one another. We challenged (in a good way) and discussed the material and opinions. This type of discussion helped me to get more serious with the material by bringing in a different viewpoint and by causing me to refine my half-baked ideas into something that is more truthful. I came away with 4 thoughts I want to keep pondering, I look forward to more of the same.

TWO. I am not the leader of the group. I get to experience Julie’s leadership and see how to do small groups better. I get to stay in student mode and not teacher mode. Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE being in teacher mode. But I need to be in student mode right now. It is hard to explain what I am feeling and needing. But I am grateful to be exploring Multiply for this time with this group as a student.

THREE. It was an honour to hear life. Everyone is going through something. This is true whether we can see it or not. And last night we heard a bit about the life of some of the ladies. We heard their pain, struggle, growth, doubt, frustration and desire to do all this with God.Wow! I thought, :This is a safe place.” And then I realized I wanted to be more like them. I am grateful these gals felt safe enough to share. And I am grateful that their sharing their life inspires me to be a better woman.

Your Turn . . . Are you in a Multiply small group? Some other small group? . . . What is a reason you are grateful for your group?

I am writing a gratitude series titled Grateful 43. I will do this for 43 days. And I will write three things for which I am grateful 4 each topic. Do you see the play on the words 43 and FOR THREE?  Go here for the 43 Days of Gratitude JOURNAL Prompts

Related Posts . . . 

Entry filed under: Gratitude List, Main, Small Groups. Tags: , .

Friday’s Fave Five September 29th, 2017 Grateful 43 – Office Supplies

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rosemary Liebich  |  . at .

    As part of the same Multiply group as Susan, I can identify with her grateful 43. But in my own words and view, I am grateful for Julie hosting our Multiply group. Although, she also has rough spots in her life, she is sensitive to others concerns, and finished our group with a sweet call to the Lord for each person. The 2nd thing I’m grateful 4 is the other ladies who were there. I really enjoy our CNC fellowship, especially meeting with these other women who also seek the Lord’s leading in their lives. I think we’ll learn together. My 3rd grateful 43 is that Francis Chan is author and in the video. I’ve encountered him before on a short video “Just Stop And Think” and I always wanted to hear more from him. I imagine each Group will have it’s own personality, but I’m grateful to Multiply with this one.

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Cheryl St. Charles  |  . at .

    First of all, I love that the ladies felt the draw to the Lordship of Christ. We all were willing to share something about that. Second, there is nothing better on earth to do than to be open, humble, and encourage each other to become a better follower of Jesus Christ. Third, there was no nasty hangover from negativity. The next morning I woke up refreshed and comforted and instantly prayerful for all the women in our group. God is with us!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


60 Acts of Kindness, Intentional & Random to do my 60th year

The Finish Date.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 795 other subscribers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories