Friday’s Fave Five October 20, 2017

. at . 8 comments

“Old age is dark and unlovely, Sally” said Mrs. Adams.

“Still,” said Sally, “you have much to be happy about.”

“True,” agrees Mrs. Adams.

~ (This short conversation came from an episode on John Adams.)

Yes, old age is dark and unlovely. And yes, there is still much to be happy about. Right now I am going to list five things that gets my gratitude. Join us here to do the same.

ONE. Celebrated Emily’s Birthday breakfast and dinner. My niece turned 16 and we had the required birthday waffles and ice cream breakfast and then the birthday person’s choice for dinner (lasagna, bread and salad with cheesecake for dessert.) Emily is smart, athletic, funny, loving, godly, and dedicated. I am blessed to have her as a niece.

TWO. Completed another 5K Fun Walk. Mary and I have finished four 5K’s now. This one was along the American River. There were only 40ish people – mainly running. At least we weren’t the last folks done. It was a lovely day and the money went to a cause we both believe in: the Children’s Receiving Home.

THREE. Decluttering is still going on. The thing I am happiest about is that the porch is empty. It is supposed to rain tomorrow so I had a huge incentive to get this area done.

FOUR. Car was donated. I’ve been trying to figure out what is wrong with my old car but wasn’t having any luck. With some help from my daughter, my car was donated today. It feels good to help a non-profit. And it feels good to cross off a majour item on my to-do list.

FIVE. Decorated a bulletin board. Cheryl helped me to put up new information on our PEP 55+ bulletin board. The gal who normally takes care of changing out the advertising. is not feeling well. So Cheryl helped me and we think we did a nice job. Plus it was fun spending time with Cheryl. And we even got in a few minutes of prayer together.

Your Turn . . . Please share something from your list.

Related Post . . . 43 Days of Gratitude JOURNAL Prompts

Entry filed under: Friday's Fave Five (FFF), Gratitude List, Main. Tags: , .

MORE vs less: Books About Decluttering MORE vs less: Use a Declutter To-Do List

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Faith  |  . at .

    it sounds like a lovely week full of special blessings…..from the 5K for a great cause to helping out a coworker and getting rid of junk! love it! happy weekend!

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. a spirit of simplicity  |  . at .

    I will be 55 in 6 short months but I don’t feel old at all!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  • 3. Ann  |  . at .

    I LOVE to change bulletin boards. That is, I loved it more as a younger single teacher with time on my hands. But it’s still fun!!

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. motolocochica  |  . at .

    I’m grateful getting to eat peach fro yo with you mom. That was a fun shopping day!

    Like

    Reply
  • 5. Barbara H.  |  . at .

    Sounds like a busy but enjoyable week! Congratulations on finishing 4 5k runs/walks! Interesting quote at the beginning. Watching my m-i-l’s decline, it would indeed seem there is less to be thankful for each year, but she is a model of contentment. One preacher I heard years ago said that one reason God lets our bodies decline as we get older is to motivate us to be willing to leave them. I hated bulletin boards in college – I was an education major and many classes required doing one. But I enjoyed them later on in church. Yay for birthdays and more decluttering. What a great thing to do with an old car!

    Like

    Reply
  • 6. Willow  |  . at .

    Yay! You decluttered stuff from your porch, you decluttered your old car, and you decluttered all those waffles! Well done!
    When I hear others complain about their old age, I think, “But think of the alternative.” We’re alive and still able to praise God and pray to Him.

    Like

    Reply
  • 7. smile7850  |  . at .

    Your week sounds great, productive and full of family and love!!!

    Like

    Reply
  • 8. Susanne  |  . at .

    I love your birthday tradition. Who wouldn’t love waffles and ice cream for breakfast on their birthday?! And I’m very much liking your nieces supper choices. Yum! Way to go on completing four 5k walks.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


60 Acts of Kindness, Intentional & Random to do my 60th year

The Finish Date.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 795 other subscribers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories