5 Ways I Saw God Take Care of Me Today

. at . 5 comments

God provided me with an accountability partner (ap) for the Treasure Principle sermon series. (Maybe two!)We’ll meet weekly to talk about our goals, how we did, educate ourselves about this issue and pray. I think prayer will turn out to be the key to our changing.

 Our discussion revealed that we have some doubts about God’s willingness to take care of us financially. When I was married I didn’t feel that way. Even though at times we were poor (like not knowing where the next meal would come from poor), I felt secure in my hubby’s ability to provide. I just didn’t worry about finances. Back then I KNEW that God would provide either through hubby or other means. And He did every time.

 However, since the divorce, I’ve felt very vulnerable and fearful. Isn’t that plain nuts? I have the same God. Maybe I  was really counting on the hubby to provide and not God. My ap and I realized that our focus is off. We want to focus on God and not the giant.

So part of our assignment for next week is to daily list “5 Ways God Took Care of Me Today.” I won’t always make this list public, but here’s today’s list.

  1.  The accountabilty partners from God are just what I need. Not only will I get some structure in this area, I’ll have fun doing it. And I won’t have to do this alone.
  2. God provided our WM account with $98. It came from the used cell phone/inkjet cartridge fundraiser. This money will go towards scholarships for the Retreat. We will do this fundraiser again!
  3. I didn’t spend any money. That is always a plus.
  4. I received emotional support. Several people called and/or visited me. Connecting with other women in honesty, fun, intelligence and caring fills up my emotional tank. The more filled it is, the better I am able to not resort to buying things to fill my tank.
  5. God reminded me of my priority. I want God and not Things, Money, or People to rule my heart, pocketbook, words, actions and how I spend my time.

Be sure to pick up your copy of The Treasure Principle: Unlocking the Secret of Joyful Giving by Randy Alcorn. Go to the church office to pick one up. It’s $6.

 There are two Treasure Principle Small Groups at church these next 6 weeks (Feb-Mar 2007). Pastor Mike has one on Wednesday nights, 7-8:30 pm. John and Shula have one on Thursday nights, 5:30-8:30 pm. Their group starts with a potluck.

Call the church for phone numbers or more info on the groups. Or how about forming your own group? Or getting an accountability partner or two?

Entry filed under: Bible Study, Books, CNC, divorce, Frugal, Meditations, Susan's World. Tags: , , .

Planning Ahead by Portion Control as a Weight Loss Aide Belated Birthday Wishes; I Got the Pressie

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. lynette  |  . at .

    Although I am not attending one of the classes. I think I will also list how God takes care of me (us) daily in my journal.

    Susan
    Also, both groups have childcare provided.
    On Wed. there is childcare at the church from 6:30-8:30. Mike’s house is across the street from the church.
    Pioneer Club is also going on from 6:40-8pm 1st-7th grade.

    On Thursday Shula & John also have childcare at their house. Just let Shula know if you have kids coming.

    Like

    Reply
  • 2. Theresa  |  . at .

    Over the last several years we have been working hard to get totally out of debt. It seems to be neverending uphill climbing! LOL But we have also been given some miracles, like someone traded us a Dodge Caravan minivan for our tiny Geo…just in time too because with twins and having three in carseats it was a TIGHT squeeze! LOL Someone also has anonymously allowed us the use of the Ford Taurus, paying both insurance and tabs so that there is a way for me to take the kids out while Tim is working. And just when we think we can’t make it, God surprises us with blessings we never think of. God has been showing us through all this that abundance is NOT $! I know He will be taking care of you, God is your husband…you couldn’t ask for any better! :o)

    Like

    Reply
  • 3. lynette  |  . at .

    Hosea 2:19 & 20

    Like

    Reply
  • 4. susan2009  |  . at .

    Lynette – awesome. I’d like to hear your God-sightings some time.
    Thanks for reminding everyone about childcare.

    Thanks for the verses to meditate upon. Doing that (meditation) does chnage my mindset and mood. 🙂

    Theresa – Congrats on your determination. I feel like it is an uphill battle too. Wow – thanks for sharing your miracles. It always increases my faith to hear such events. It reminds me that since He is my Father and Husband, He will care for me.

    And yes, abundance is not $. As much as I like having my physical needs cared for, I think I prefer His definition of abundance!

    Like

    Reply
  • […] It is okay to desire gold and honey. ButI need to make sure the desire and pursuit for the Lord’s Words are even stronger. This message goes great with Pastor’s new series on Treasure Principles.  […]

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


60 Acts of Kindness, Intentional & Random to do my 60th year

The Finish Date.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 795 other subscribers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories