Grateful 43 – Lessons I’ve Learned This Year

. at . 1 comment

Day 20 – Lessons I’ve Learned This Year

Even though it isn’t January 1st, today is a good time to look back and see what I’ve learned. Why? Because any day spent in self-reflections is a good time to do so. There are 90 days left until January 1, 2018. So I still have time to make course corrections before the new year.

ONE. It takes focus to live a healthy life. As we get older, it is not so easy to have a healthy body. Or maybe it’s that our body can tolerate less abuse. Now that I am almost 60-years-old, I need and want to be more intentional about healthy habits which will encourage a healthy body. I am grateful that I still have time this year to improve my diet, sleep and exercise.

TWO. Examining life is an important activity to do. I tend to always be planning the next activity. I am forward-looking. I am learning (AGAIN) how important it is to make the time to examine what just past. When I do take that time to examine I am able to discern where changes need to occur. And I can say, “Hurray, Susan! You did it!” I benefit from both: course changes and course congratulations. I am grateful that I still have time to self-reflect in order to make changes. I can make 2017 the best year ever! And I have time to celebrate what I’ve done well.

THREE. Regular relaxation is not selfish; it is necessary. This is another idea that I’ve known but am now living it more than I ever did before. When I do take that regular time to be “off,” I am better.

  • I am a better listener.
  • I am better at focusing on the tasks at hand.
  • I make better decisions.
  • I am better at follow-through.

I am grateful that I still have time to incorporate “relaxation” into the rest of 2017. It will be beneficial and FUN to do so.

Your Turn . . . What are three lessons you’ve learned this year? . . . Why are you grateful for them? . . . Any changes you want to make in the next 90 days?

I am writing a gratitude series titled Grateful 43. I will do this for 43 days. And I will write three things for which I am grateful 4 each topic. Do you see the play on the words 43 and FOR THREE?  Go here for the 43 Days of Gratitude JOURNAL Prompts

Related Posts . . . 

 

Entry filed under: Gratitude List, Main. Tags: .

MORE vs less: 31 Days of Decluttering – Introduction MORE vs less: How to Think Clutter-Free

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


60 Acts of Kindness, Intentional & Random to do my 60th year

The Finish Date.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 795 other subscribers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories