Grateful 43 – Songs

. at . 1 comment

Day 35 – Songs

ONE. Christian Music. These three songs come as a package, in my mind. Every time we plan a Women’s Retreat or a Women’s Mission’s Tea, I ask the Worship Team to sing these 3 songs. Sometimes I get one of them. Once I got all three! … In Christ Alone … Amazing Grace My Chains Are Gone … and Awesome God You Tube video and lyrics. Edited to add: This video does show some graphic clips. Click this to hear just the chorus – very moving.

I am grateful for these songs because they remind me that GOD is awesome, I am saved, and He is worthy to be praised.

TWO. Play this song at my funeral, Way Over Yonder. I have loved this song since I was 13. And when I became a Believer at 16, I saw a spiritual implication in this song.

A way over yonder, that’s where I’m bound
I know when I get there
The first thing I’ll see
Is the sun shining golden
Shining right down on me
Then trouble’s gonna lose me
Worry leave me behind
And I’ll stand up proudly
In true peace of mind

Someday I’ll enter heaven and the first thing I’ll see is the SON and God’s light shining down on me. And won’t it be glorious that there’ll be NO more trouble, worry, pain or tears. I’ll have a true peace of mind! For eternity. Now that’s a lot to be grateful for.

THREE. Sometimes I like a country song. Right now, I like to sing this song, She’s Got A Way With Words by Blake Shelton Lyrics, and not because I have breakup bitterness. I think this song has clever lyrics and a catchy tune. And I am grateful that this is not me. But sometime, I would like to have a witty comeback and say, “You put the why in try.” (Does that make me mean?)

When you put two and two together
You figure out love’s got four letters
I shoulda known that when I met her
But she had to spell it out for me
After all that second guessing
It’s been a long hard history lesson
Hell that’s a class I got an F in
But now I understand perfectly

[Chorus]
She put the her in hurt
She put the why in try

Your Turn . . . What are some of your fave songs? Why?

I am writing a gratitude series titled Grateful 43. I will do this for 43 days. And I will write three things for which I am grateful 4 each topic. Do you see the play on the words 43 and FOR THREE?  Go here for the 43 Days of Gratitude JOURNAL Prompts

Related Posts . . . 

 

Entry filed under: Gratitude List, Main, Music. Tags: .

MORE vs less: Decluttering My Fantasy Self MORE vs less: Learning from “Coming Clean: A Memoir” 

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


60 Acts of Kindness, Intentional & Random to do my 60th year

The Finish Date.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 795 other subscribers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories