Friday’s Fave Five September 8th, 2017

. at . 15 comments

The week is over but we get to look back and reflect on 5 blessings. Sometimes, it is hard to find the blessings, and sometimes like this week, it is easy.

ONE. Decluttered. My decluttering efforts continuedI simplified the items in my bathroom and one bedroom closet. I came across this quote about clutter that makes a lot of sense. “Clutter is postponed decision-making,” Barbara Hemphill.

TWO. Safe home. I am grateful that my home is safe from natural disasters. I have asthma and the air quality right now is BAD on account of the multiple fires in my state. But my home is safe for me because I have a working air conditioner, 3 salt lamps and a portable air purifier. All these things helped me cope well.

THREE. Rest day. Monday was a holiday in the States, Labour Day. And this year, I took it as a rest day. I stayed home all day to nap, write, and read. Nap, write, and read. I was able to get the following book as an e-book from my library: Traces of Guilt (Evie Blackwell Cold Case #1/2) by Dee Henderson Thanks to Barb from Stray Thoughts for the book review that led me to this series.

FOUR. Shopped from my pantry. As I mentioned I didn’t go out on Monday and I was low on food. So I shopped from my pantry for meals that day. For one meal I made salmon burgers with avocado humus. I’ve had the can of salmon for a while and I have to admit I procrastinated because I thought it would be gross. But i wasn’t. It was tasty.

My daughter is modeling a dress that was made for the 10-14 year old group.

FIVE. Packed boxes. A small group of the Operation Christmas Child group (from our church) met to pack up the supplies we’ve been collecting and sewing. Our closet (at church) was full and it was hard to determine what we still needed. We packed 48 boxes! Some of the boxes still need a couple of things. But this is a great start as they aren’t due until mid November.

Your Turn . . . What events captured your gratitude attention from this past week? Express your gratitude in the comments below. Or write your own post and link p at Susanne’s place for Friday’s Fave Five.

What I Wrote This Week . . . 

Entry filed under: Main. Tags: , , .

How I Soothe My INFLAMED Sinuses 43 Days of Gratitude JOURNAL Prompts

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Barbara H.  |  . at .

    I was just thinking today of a couple of areas needing decluttering. It’s such a good feeling. I hope you enjoy Dee’s book! Glad your library had it! Your Labor Day sounds great. I’m glad you have some aids to help combat your asthma, especially when the air isn’t so good outside. That’s a great head start on your Christmas boxes!

    Like

    Reply
    • 2. susan2009  |  . at .

      I hardly ever write book reviews, but I like to read them. So I am grateful that you like to write them, Barbara. I did enjoy the book. And I have the next one on hold at the library.

      Like

  • 3. Faith  |  . at .

    I am on a de cluttering kick lately too and it feels great!
    I loved just reading most of Labor day. i really needed that kind of day!
    Your daughter looks greatmin that cheerful dress!
    Im glad my home is safe too. Have a nice weekend!

    Like

    Reply
    • 4. susan2009  |  . at .

      Faith – I am glad you have a chill day, too. Isn’t it funny that the holiday was about work and yet we rested?!

      Like

  • 5. Ann  |  . at .

    Wonderful work on Operation Christmas Child!! I’ve not been able to do as much this year – sounds like you are doing a great job.

    Like

    Reply
    • 6. susan2009  |  . at .

      I have personally filled OCC boxes since 2003. This is the first year I have had a group to do this with. It has been motivating, fun, and unifying.
      We all do what we an and leave the result to God, right?

      Like

  • 7. Willow  |  . at .

    Yay for your decluttering! Keep going!
    Thanks for the link and recommendation for a new series—like I NEED another one–but you can’t read too many books!
    I’m thankful with you that your home is a haven for you.

    Like

    Reply
    • 8. susan2009  |  . at .

      Yes, Willow, having a haven for home is nothing to take lightly especially this year.

      Like

  • 9. wendyj59  |  . at .

    Keep up the decluttering. Mine is a work in progress, very slow progress!

    Like

    Reply
    • 10. susan2009  |  . at .

      Thanks for the encouragement, Wendy. Sometimes baby steps is all I manage, too. But at least those are steps in the correct direction. Let’s keep on keeping on.

      Like

  • 11. jerralea  |  . at .

    I just read Traces of Guilt, too! I’m a big Dee Henderson fan.

    I love your decluttering quote. I’m going to have to add that to my collection.

    Your Monday sounds marvelous. I treasure those days that I can stay home ALL day. They are few and far between …

    Love that you guys are on top of the OCC shoeboxes! Good job!

    Like

    Reply
    • 12. susan2009  |  . at .

      Jerralea, like you, I love collecting quotes. And it seems like I get them from all sorts of places. I used to put them in my journal. I want to get back to that practice.

      Like

  • 13. Gattina  |  . at .

    Just read salmon burgers with avocados humus ! What a great idea must taste delicious !

    Like

    Reply
    • 14. susan2009  |  . at .

      Yes, both were tasty. I will definitely make it again.

      Like

  • 15. Susanne  |  . at .

    So glad you are safe. I didn’t realize you had fires in your state. We have had horrible air quality as we had bad out of control fires in our province too. I had no idea salt lamps help. I’m amazed that your church has packed so many boxes already. Way to go!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


60 Acts of Kindness, Intentional & Random to do my 60th year

The Finish Date.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 795 other subscribers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories