Grateful 43 – Things about Walking a 5K

. at . 3 comments

What change have you made lately to improve your health? Three months ago I decided to up my step count. I asked on FaceBook who wanted to walk sponsored 5K’s with me. And in order to get ready for the monthly sponsored 5K’s, I knew I had to walk more each day.

Several people responded, and one has been able to walk each time with me. Mary and I just finished our 3rd sponsored 5K fun walk/run. Here are 3 reasons I am grateful 4 them.

ONE. Healthier. I am improving my health. The first benefit i’ve noticed is my increasing endurance. Because of the consistent walking I do, I am sleeping better at night.. This one change has spurred on 2 others changes. I just finished the first month of my planking challenge. And I am now walking one 5K a week (in addition to my 10,000 steps). I just finished my 3rd week of that.

TWO. Friendship. I’ve known Mary for a lot of years (from church). Now that we are walking these 5K’s together, we’ve had the opportunity to talk a lot more. And our talks have helped us go from acquaintances to friends. Gaining a friendship from this monthly 5K goal is a definite bonus.

At this last 5K (which I walked today) two other church friends joined us, Andrea and Bip. It was FUN having them with us. And it was Bip’s 1st 5K. We even have a name, the Rancho Steppers. We did well! Go team!

THREE. Sponsorship. So far we have walked for Alzheimer’s education/research, Heart & Stroke education/research, and we walked for the Susan B Anthony foundation. I am sorry to say, I don’t know what we were supporting with our registration fees. I like that I am being exposed to different non-profits and am able to give them money to pursue worthwhile goals like research and education.

Your Turn . . . I will ask the question I asked at the beginning, what health change have you made recently? . . . And if you haven’t made one yet, what health change would you like to make? . . . Do you walk or run 5K’s? If yes, why are you grateful for them?

I am writing a gratitude series titled Grateful 43. I will do this for 43 days. And I will write three things for which I am grateful 4 each topic. Do you see the play on the words 43 and FOR THREE?  Go here for the 43 Days of Gratitude JOURNAL Prompts

Related Posts . . . 

Entry filed under: Gratitude List, Main. Tags: , .

Philosophy of Life Hasn’t Changed in 9 Years Grateful 43 – Things about my Children

3 Comments Add your own

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


60 Acts of Kindness, Intentional & Random to do my 60th year

The Finish Date.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 795 other subscribers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories