MORE vs less: Grateful 4 3 Reasons about Decluttering

. at . 2 comments

Day 24 – How does being grateful impact your decluttering?

I have been on a dedicated decluttering journey for 24 days now. It’s long enough to see how decluttering is impacting my life. In fact I am grateful 4 3 things about decluttering.

ONE. Living a decluttered life shows me I have enough for today. I can see why the Bible says to live for today. When I keep (lots of extra) things for “just in case,” I am living in fear or guilt.

  • Fearful that if I don’t save this, I will need it and not be able to get it when I need/want it.
  • Guilt because I paid good money for it and I HAVE to use it up or else I wasted money.

I can peacefully live in the now with the knowledge that I have enough for today.

TWO. Living a decluttered life helps me become pickier with what’s in my space. And as I become more and more decluttered, I am becoming more and more “in like” with the things I do have. I am narrowing down my possessions to what’s most useful, needed, and beautiful.

THREE. As I become more and more decluttered, it is more about de-owning than decluttering. Possessions no longer own me like they used to. Things go back to being things that have a use instead of being something that fills a void or communicates a burdensome memory-emotion.

Your Turn . . . Why are you grateful 4 your decluttering journey?

Day 24 –  31 Minutes of Decluttering = One tub of stuff – miscellaneous papers and office supplies. I love office supplies! In this post I wrote 3 Reasons I Am Grateful For Office Supplies. But there are only so many staples, notebooks, dice (???), post-it notes, binder & paper clips a gal can use in one lifetime. It is now all DECLUTTERED.

Related Posts . . . 

Go here for the landing page with all the posts for MORE vs less: 31 Days of Decluttering. #write31days  . . . I am joining 100’s of bloggers who are determined to write every day in October on one topic. To read more about #Write31Days, go here.

Join me in this experiment of MORE vs less. If you’d like, you can join our private Facebook group that is encouraging one another in this task.

Entry filed under: Decluttering, Main. Tags: , , .

Grateful 43 – Things about My Daughter-in-Law MORE vs Less: Decluttering Doesn’t Have To Be Linear; You Can Zigzag

2 Comments Add your own

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


60 Acts of Kindness, Intentional & Random to do my 60th year

The Finish Date.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 795 other subscribers

Stuff I’ve Written and When

Categories